Create and Manage Private, Institutional or Shared with me Groups

Groups allow any registered user to save items to share, export, and add descriptive information. You can create, edit, and delete your Private or Institutional groups. To learn more about Groups, see: Groups Overview. Or watch a video about creating groups.

On this page…
Open your Groups
Create a Group
Add items to an existing Group
Edit a Group Name, Description, Privacy setting or Tags
Delete a Group
Copy a Group
Sort Items in a Group
Rearrange Items in a Group
Delete Items from a Group
Share a Group
Shared with me Groups

Open Your Groups

  1. Login to your Artstor account and from the menu choose Browse > Image Groups, or Click Image Groups under the landing page Browse heading.

Browse Groups

  1. Groups you have created will be listed under Private or Institutional, depending if you selected to share them or not.

Create a Group

  1. Log in to your Artstor account.
  2. Search for items or browse collections to find items for your group.
  3. Turn on Select mode by clicking on the checkmark icon . Click items to select them. Click again to de-select. Items will be saved to your Group in the order that you select them.
  4. In the menu click Organize > Save Selections to New Image group.
  5. In the dialog window:
    • Add a Group title
    • Add a Group description (optional)
    • Check the box to share the group with others at your institution (optional). If the box remains unchecked, the group will be private and viewable only with your user account login
    • Add tags (link here)
  6. Click Save changes then choose Return to Search or Go to Group

Add items to an existing Group

  1. Log in to your Artstor account.
  2. Search for items or browse collections to find items for your group.
  3. Click Select Basic RGB then click the center of the item thumbnails. Click Select again to turn off Select mode. Items will be saved to your Group in the order that you select them.
  4. In the menu click Organize> Save Selections to Existing Group.
  5. In the new dialog window, start typing the name of the group to which you wish to add your selections, or click the dropdown to select a group name.
  6. Click Save Changes; then choose Go to Group or Return to Search

Edit a Group Title, Description, Privacy setting or Tags

  1. Log in to your Artstor account.
  2. Open your Group.
  3. Go to the navigation menu and click Organize > Edit image group info.
  4. In the dialog window you can edit the title, description, change the share settings, and add or remove tags.
  5. Click Save changes. In the Image Group Saved dialog box, click Refresh Image Group.

Edit Group Info

Delete a Group

  1. Log in to your Artstor account.
  2. Open a Private or Institutional Group
  3. Go to the navigation menu and click Organize > Delete image group.
  4. A dialog window will open, prompting you to confirm the deletion. Click Delete to complete the process.

Copy a Group

  1. Log in to your Artstor account.
  2. Open any Group (you can copy groups that are Artstor Curated, Institutional Collection Groups, or Open Collection Groups)
  3. Go to the navigation menu and click Organize > Save image group as
  4. In the Copy Image Group dialog window, give this group a title, or select from an existing title, then click Save Changes You can have Groups that you manage, with identical Group names, or you can save the group with a new name (the group description will be copied but the groups tags will not).
  5. To add tags to this newly copied group, choose Organize > Edit image group info.

Pro Tip! This feature makes it easy to collaborate with other registered users at your institution. Create and save copies of groups, then share the link with your collaborator.

Sort Images in an Image Group

  1. Log in to your Artstor account and Open your Group.
  2. Use the dropdown next to Sort to sort your group alphabetically by Title, alphabetically by Creator, chronologically by Date, or by Relevance.

This sort is for viewing only—changes will not hold for the next time you open the group. If you have already rearranged items in your group, you will be unable to Sort the group.

Rearrange Items in a Group

  1. Login to your Artstor account and open a Private or Institutional Group
  2. Click the Reorder button reorder Your group will display on a single, scrollable page, which you can use to rearrange thumbnails, without having to move between multiple pages.
  3. Drag and drop to rearrange your items.
  4. Repeat these steps as necessary, then, save your changes by clicking Save order .

NOTE: If you are not able to drag a thumbnail, the reorder button may not be clicked, or you may be trying to drag and drop images in an Artstor collection, a set of search results, or another user’s image group. Since you do not have write access to these sets of items, you will not be able to drag and drop thumbnails.

Delete Items from a Group

  1. Log in to your Artstor account.
  2. Open a Private, or Institutional Group
  3. Click Select Basic RGB Click an item(s) thumbnail then from the menu choose Organize > Delete selections from Group

Share an Image Group

Once you’ve created an image group, you can: print it, download the entire group as JPG files or download to PowerPoint presentation, generate a stable URL to embed in websites or an LMS, export it to the Offline Image Viewer, open it on your mobile device. Links to groups can be shared.

Shared with me Groups

A private group can be shared with other logged in users at subscribing institutions, by sharing the group URL. After logging in, the user receiving the shared link can paste or click the link, to view the group. The group will be accessible by them from the Shared with me groups section.